Logo of the Confederación Hidrográfica del Segura, go to home page

 You are in :: Inicio > Information > Infrastructures > Reservoirs > Taibilla


Taibilla reservoir


The Mancomunidad de Canales del Taibilla was set up in the first half of the 20th century to supply the municipal districts that formed part of the Mancomunidad: Cartagena, Murcia, Lorca, Orihuela, Elche, La Unión, Mazarrón, Totana, Ceheguín, Moratalla, Mula, Fuente Álamo, Alhama, Bullas, Torres de Cotillas, Librilla, Pliego, Crevillente and the Cartagena Naval Base. Also included in the supply were municipal districts which were convenient to supply and the study to supply the former, easy to make: Férez, Socovos, Caravaca, Villanueva, Ojós, Ulea, Archena, Ceutí, Alguazas, Lorquí, Molina de Segura, Alcantarilla, Santomera, Benferri, Redován, Callosa de Segura, Almoradí, Cox, Albatera, Catral, Dolores, Santa Pola and Alicante.

Taibilla reservoir

To do this a Base Project (1930) was drawn up for the planning of the necessary work for the exploitation of the Taibilla river basin. This consisted basically of the Water Intake from Taibilla reservoir and its transfer to the municipal districts cited via the main canals of the Canal Alto del Taibilla and the Canal Bajo del Taibilla, in combination with a series of secondary canals, branch canals and pipes. It also covered the construction of the regulation and safety reservoirs, the hydroelectric exploitation of the water drops in Moratalla and Rambla de los Molinos, as well as the inlet works and all the work pertaining to the plan described above (service roads, warden house, telephone lines and other accessories).

According to the Base Project, the function of the diversion dam was to regulate the River Taibilla waters and thus guarantee the supply to the Cartagena branch. At the same time this solved the problem of the murky waters of the river since their passage through the reservoir would settle them before reaching the inlet of the Canal Alto del Taibilla.

previous next back